Connect with us

Detroit Red Wings

Red Wings Leave Cholowski and Stecher Unprotected for Expansion Draft



The Detroit Red Wings have left 2016 first round pick Dennis Cholowski unprotected for the Seattle Kraken Expansion Draft

The Detroit Red Wings have left three first-round picks, including defenseman Dennis Cholowski, unprotected for the July 21 NHL Expansion Draft.

Evgeny Svechnikov, (2015, No. 19) and Vladislav Namestnikov (2011, by Tampa Bay, 27th), are the other first rounders. Defensemen Troy Stecher and Danny Dekeyser, and forward Frans Nielsen, are also unprotected.

The Kraken can only draft one player from each NHL team, except the Vegas Golden Knight who entered the NHL three years ago.

Cholowski might have been protected if the Red Wings had not traded for veteran offensive defenseman Nick Leddy Friday night.

A gambling site has given Svechnikov the best odds of being drafted by the Kraken. But Stecher and Cholowski are both attractive choices. Stecher plays an energetic offensive style and Cholowski boasts offensive potential, although he has been slow to develop.

The Red Wings protected Givani Smith because they like his toughness and strength. He is out of options and the Red Wings are expected to give him a chance to play this season. Adam Erne’s strong play this past season earned his place on the protected list.

The official Detroit protected list:




Riley Barber (F)

Kyle Criscuolo (F)

Turner Elson (F)

Valtteri Filppula (F)

Sam Gagner (F)

Luke Glendening (F)

Darren Helm (F)

Taro Hirose (F)

Vladislav Namestnikov (F)

Frans Nielsen (F)

Bobby Ryan (F)

Evgeny Svechnikov (F)

Dominic Turgeon (F)

Hayden Verbeek (F)

Alex Biega (D)

Dennis Cholowski (D)

Danny DeKeyser (D)

Christian Djoos (D)

Joe Hicketts (D)

Dylan McIlrath (D)

Marc Staal (D)

Troy Stecher (D)

Jonathan Bernier (G)

Kevin Boyle (G)

Kaden Fulcher (G)

Calvin Pickard (G)



Tyler Bertuzzi (F)

Adam Erne (F)

Robby Fabbri (F)

Dylan Larkin (F)

Michael Rasmussen (F)

Givani Smith (F)

Jakub Vrana (F)

Filip Hronek (D)

Nick Leddy (D)

Gustav Lindstrom (D)

Thomas Greiss (G)