Connect with us

Detroit Red Wings

Michigan Hall of Fame Honors Red Wings’ Grind Line With Treasure Award on Oct. 1



Darren McCarty, former Detroit Red Wings player
The Grind Line, recipient of the Michigan Hall of Fame Treasure Award for 2020, will finally be celebrated on Oct. 1

The Detroit Red Wings’ revered Grind Line will be honored with the Michigan Hall of Fame’s Treasure Award at its Oct. 1 induction

The Grind Line consists of Kirk Maltby, Kris Draper, and either Darren McCarty or Joe Kocur. All four players will be honored. The line actually won the award for 2020. However, the Covid-19 pandemic prevented the traditional Michigan Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

“It’s overdue to say the least,” said Michigan Hall of Fame chairman Scott Leshner. He appeared on the Woodward Sports Network to talk about the honor.

The Grind Line is considered one of the most popular lines in Red Wings’ history. As the name suggests, the Grind Line was known for its gritty checking proficiency and a knack for scoring timely goals.