Connect with us

Detroit Red Wings

David Perron as the Hart Trophy Winner: What Are the Odds?



David Perron, detroit Red Wings
BetMGM listed as +10000 to win the Hart Trophy

Detroit Red Wings fans are happy about general manager Steve Yzerman’s decision to sign David Perron as a free agent this summer.

But the betting community seems to like it even more.

BetMGM released its preseason odds for the Hart Trophy and Perron is considered the most likely Red Wing player to win the Trophy.

No Dylan Larkin, or Tyler Bertuzzi, or Moritz Seider or Lucas Raymond.

Edmonton Oilers standout Connor McDavid is the favorite at +300. Toronto Maple Leafs star Auston Matthews is second at +450. Another Edmonton player Leon Draisaitl is third at +650. Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon is fourth at +1000.

Perron’s +10000 odds tie him for 41st. Montreal’s Carey Price, Colorado’s Gabriel Landeskog, Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Ottawa’s Claude Giroux are other players with the same odds.

Odds are not posted on Larkin, Bertuzzi, Seider or Raymond for the award. BetMGM lists 91 players on the odds board.

Nedeljkovic on the Board

The only other Red Wings player on the board is goalie Alex Nedeljkovic. He’s at +15000. That’s the same as 150-1 odds. The +15000 group includes Minnesota’s Marc-Andre Fleury and Boston’s Patrice Bergeron.


States: Mi


Betting lines are set by oddsmakers. The total amount of money being bet on all of the possible outcomes determine the movement of those odds.

It’s unknown why oddsmskers like Perron over Larkin or the other Red Wings. Perron, 34, is a proven scorer with 269 career goals. He boasts 94 goals over the past four season. He helped the St. Louis Blues win the Stanley Cup in 2019. Perron scored 27 goals last season. By contrast, Larkin netted 31 goals last season and Bertuzzi totaled 30. Larkin is 26 and Bertuzzi is 27. Both players are going into the last season of their contracts, although they are currently negotiating for a new contract

Perron has never received a vote in any Hart Trophy race in any season of his career.